Representing estates and facilities professionals operating within the  



Entries invited for new Sustainable Health and Care Awards

A new awards programme for NHS, public health and social care organisations has been announced by the Sustainable Development Unit. The awards are free to enter and are open for entry by any public sector health and care organisations in England.


The Sustainable Health and Care awards will highlight and celebrate the outstanding sustainable practices taking place which are making real benefits for health and the environment such as cutting carbon, air pollution and promoting green space. 


Supported by the Department of Health and Social Care, NHS England and Public Health England, there are a total of 12 award categories, based on the 10 themes of the Sustainable Development Unit’s Sustainable Development Assessment Tool which are closely aligned to UN’s Sustainable Development Goals, as well as two awards to celebrate and recognise inspirational individuals.


The categories and a brief description of entry critieria are:

* Adaptation - best resilience strategy

This award will showcase an organisation and its workforce from any part of the system that is well-prepared and trained to deal with extreme weather scenarios.


* Capital projects - building design efficiency

This award will showcase an organisation that has delivered a sustainable capital project plan or process to achieve at least one major success and is embedding these principles wider in other new builds and major refurbishments.


* Carbon reduction

This award will showcase an organisation that has set and achieved clear SMART carbon targets in relation to various carbon hotspots, such as energy, travel or goods, with a baseline year and clear target date.


* Care and clinical practice

The organisation that wins this award will understand the role of sustainable care models and how they are developed and deployed. It will show understanding that prevention and early intervention are core considerations in the design of any care pathway or service.


* Green space

This award will showcase an organisation that can demonstrate it has contributed to the creation, maintenance and access to high quality green space, either on site or in the community, for the purposes of improving health and wellbeing or to create a healing environment.


* Our people

This award will showcase an organisation that has gone above and beyond expectations in supporting staff to engage in corporate sustainability, and potentially to engage in sustainability activity outside work or in their community.


* Sustainable excellence – corporate approach

This award will showcase an organisation that has clearly demonstrated how it has incorporated social, economic and environmental sustainability into its values.


* Travel and logistics

This award will showcase an organisation that has delivered effective projects or programmes to help improve health through travel and logistics.


* Waste and resources

This award will showcase an organisation that has initiatives in place to reduce overall material use in the products it buys and the services it delivers.


* Water and energy

Organisations that enter this award should be able to evidence significant impact in reducing water or energy use.


* Health sustainability ambassador

This award is open to any professional working in a health and care organisation (or related field) who has helped to drive sustainable development in their organisation and/or the wider health economy.


* Health sustainability leader

This award will recognise individuals at a senior level – and those operating alongside senior leadership – who are shaping the future and making the principles and values or sustainability central to their organisation and their wider community and the highest levels.

Entries will be assessed by the level of impact on four areas: governance and policy, corporate impact, procurement and supply chain, and working with staff, patients, and communities - and will be assessed by a panel of judges from across the health, environment and private sectors.

Health Minister Stephen Barclay says: “The NHS is a world-leading organisation in many areas and I am keen to ensure that sustainability is one of them. Given the NHS employs 1.5 million people, it has the potential to play a leading role in contributing to a sustainable future. 

“That is why I’m delighted to support the Sustainable Health and Care Awards, celebrating the Trusts and care providers which are not only delivering excellent services but innovating ways to cut carbon, waste and pollution. In its 70th year, these pioneers are paving the way for a greener and more sustainable NHS for future generations.”


Entries may be submitted on the Sustainable Health and Care website where full entry criteria may also be found. The closing date for entries is July 20, 2018. 


The awards ceremony will take place following the Sustainable Health and Care conference and exhibition in November 2018. All organisations who are shortlisted for an award will receive two complimentary places to the awards dinner and ceremony, as well as access to the conference and exhibition.


For more information and to enter go to the SDU website