Eleven new ICSs confirmed


Sir Simon Stevens has confirmed 11 more parts of the country will be formally designated Integrated Care Systems (ICS) from April 1, 2021 serving a combined population of 14.5 million people.

In all, there are now 29 ICSs covering over 35 million people in England, that’s more than 60% of the population.

The NHS aims for ICSs to cover the whole of England by April 2021, with 13 remaining parts of the country working to achieve designation. The ICS approach will deliver more seamless healthcare services, enabling health and care organisations to join forces and apply their collective strength to the care of their local populations.

This means tackling health inequality, joining up care for those with multiple conditions, improving support for people with lifelong illness and supporting children to lead healthy lives.

Last week, the NHS announced it was seeking views on proposals to strengthen ICSs, including revised recommendations to the government for putting them on a statutory footing.

The new ICSs include the remaining three parts of London - North West London, North Central London and North East London - serving around six million people and four areas of the South West serving a further three million.

Each new ICS has demonstrated that its constituent partners share a common vision to improve health and care, backed up by robust operational and financial plans and proposals for collective leadership and accountability.

Speaking at an event for NHS Trust leaders, Sir Simon said: “Now is the time to accelerate on integrated care so we have strong health and care systems serving every part of the country. The past year has demonstrated the importance of joined-up working. This will be just as critical as we work together to address the wider social and economic consequences of the Covid pandemic.”

Amanda Pritchard, Chief Operating Officer for NHS England and Improvement adds: “In our conversations with local leaders, staff and members of the public, a consensus has emerged for the need to accelerate collaborative working and to remove the barriers that remain. We have seen that decisions taken closer to communities give better outcomes, and that collaboration between NHS, local authorities and the voluntary sector creates effective and proactive care and support.”

The 11 new ICS areas are:

1.  Norfolk and Waveney
2.  Bath and North East Somerset, Swindon and Wiltshire
3.  Bristol, North Somerset and South Gloucestershire
4.  Cornwall and Isles of Scilly
5.  Somerset
6.  Birmingham and Solihull
7.  Derbyshire
8.  Hampshire and Isle of Wight
9.  North West London
10. North Central London
11. North East London

Have Your Say

There are currently no comments for this article

Jan 15, 2021 TWITTER
HEFMAUK 1350025126000156672 HEFMA https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/825018976237395968/7QYr30M3_normal.jpg 15:Jan:2021 10:20:46 BISCs has announced the imminent launch of a new suite of NHS-compliant cleaning skills, adapted from the Cleaning Professionals Skills Suite https://t.co/yKFaiYO6l9 https://t.co/21TzoXBiqU
Jan 13, 2021 TWITTER
HEFMAUK 1349354155413008392 HEFMA https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/825018976237395968/7QYr30M3_normal.jpg 13:Jan:2021 13:54:35 Initial 8 Trusts named to support the Food Review’s recommendations: Ashford and St Peters; East Lancashire; Nottingham University Hospitals; Royal Berkshire; Royal Wolverhampton; Robert Jones & Agnes Hunt; Sheffield Teaching Hospitals; Western Sussex https://t.co/xBv4gSgq5l https://t.co/AIFsBbHPM2
Jan 12, 2021 TWITTER
HEFMAUK 1348966809685385217 HEFMA https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/825018976237395968/7QYr30M3_normal.jpg 12:Jan:2021 12:15:24 NHS Estates teams - please remember to complete the Estates Team Questionnaire launched by NHSE/I in December by January 15 – access it via the Collaboration Hub or here https://t.co/KvrQhzjTNw - feedback and proposed actions will be shared once responses have been reviewed https://t.co/LuARZJBVYM